Wednesday, January 26, 2011

My Story

I thought it would be fun to share a little about myself every once in a while on here. So I am going to start some “My Story” posts so you can get to know me, and I can document some fun things about my journey in life.


I was born and raised in Zanesville, OH, which is about an hour east from Central Ohio. I practically lived in the same house all my life. My parents built our house and we moved in shortly after my first birthday. I have lived in Ohio all my life, and moved to the Columbus area about 12 years ago for college. I currently live in Westerville, OH, which is a NE suburb of Columbus. I love it here!

My family:

My parents still live in our home in Zanesville, and I have one younger brother, who is married with 3 kids. I totally love my 2 nieces and my 1 nephew. My Grandparents on my Mom’s side live in West Virginia and I get to see them a couple of times a year. I write letters to my Grandma and connect with my Grandpa on Facebook (he is one computer savvy Grandpa!!). I only have my Grandma on my Father’s side, and she lives in Zanesville also, although she spends her winters with my Aunt and Uncle in FL. She calls me on her cell phone every once in a while, and we love to just chat!

Growing up:

Growing up I was totally into dancing. I did it all from clog dancing, to tap, to ballet, to jazz. I was a competitive dancer for clogging and tap for about 5 years, and even made it to the Showstopper National Championships where we placed 2nd overall in our category! My parents totally wanted me to grow up and become a dancer in NYC, or start my own dance studio, but like most kids, I just wanted to move away and go to college. Kids never do what their parents want anyway, but I’ve got a good job, and the majority of my school paid for, so I think they are pretty happy with me.

My college experience:

The first two years of college I lived at home and went to the local tech school. I then transferred and finished up my bachelor’s in Marketing at a school in Columbus. While in undergrad I got a job working at the same college, which helped pay my tuition, and then worked there while I also got my MBA. The college I went to was a non-traditional college, and the average age was like 32. I took evening classes since I worked during the day, so I didn’t get to have that fun living in the dorms, hanging out at the coffee shop, going to crazy frat parties that most people had. I kind of wish I had, but then again, I probably would have a ton of student loans, so it probably worked out for the best. Don’t worry, I did get to have fun and go out with my friends, so it wasn’t a total loss.

What I do to pay the bills:

I have had 4 jobs in my life. In high school I worked as a cashier at Big Bear (a grocery store that eventually went under, luckily after I had left), as a PR Intern at the local tech college I attended (this was for school credit, but I got paid also, so that was a bonus), in the marketing department at a 4-year college in Columbus, and now at an advertising agency, specializing in pharmaceutical marketing. Some days I love my job, and some days I just want to stay in bed, but of course that’s just life. If I could do anything in the world, I think I would either be an interior decorator or maybe a party planner.

Hope you enjoyed learning a little about me.

1 comment:

  1. What a fun post!!! It's always so nice to learn more about the people we read every day!!! XOXO